MouthShut.com Would Like to Send You Push Notifications. Notification may includes alerts, activities & updates.

OTP Verification

Enter 4-digit code
For Brands
MouthShut Logo

Thank you for sharing the requirements with us. We'll contact you shortly.

Thank you for sharing the requirements with us. We'll contact you shortly.

MouthShut Score

51%
2.79 

Leg Room:

Dealer Satisfaction:

Mileage:

Comfort:

Reliability:

Appeal:

Rs. 4,26,000 (Ex-Showroom)

Tata Motors

I feel this review is:

Fake
Genuine

To justify genuineness of your review kindly attach purchase proof
No File Selected

Why waste money on this car
Jul 24, 2008 12:34 PM 5676 Views

Leg Room:

Dealer Satisfaction:

Mileage:

Comfort:

Reliability:

Appeal:

I have one Indigo XL Classic III car having registration No. DL3CAC-8320  purchased from M/s. Sanya Automobiles Pvt. Ltd., Defence Colony, New Delhi on 19.12.2007.


29th December, 2007 The engine of the Car stopped working and had to be towed to Sanya Motors Workshop.  I had to wait on the road side for 2½ hrs waiting for TATA help and no arrangement for my transport was made by TATA.


During 1st week of March, 2008, the engine again stopped running.  Help line of   M/s. Sanya Motors was contacted who advised me to tap at 2-3 different places on the engine. The engine started running after tapping.  I had to wait on the road side for one hour.


9th March, 2008


The engine again stopped running and the vehicle had to be towed to M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop. I had to wait on the road side for three hours. Vehicle was received back on 10th March, 2008. I was promised transport from TATA Workshop but after reaching Workshop I had to wait for one hour then I was asked to avail the facility of help line (TATA SUMO).


30th June, 2008


Vehicle lost its pick up while driving.  The vehicle was taken to M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop and the defect was checked up/ repaired and vehicle was received back in the evening.


7th July, 2008


The engine did not start.  Report lodged with M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop.  Vehicle had to be towed to TATA Workshop on 8th July, 2008.  The vehicle was received back on 16th July, 2008. No arrangement for my transport was made by TATA.


19th July, 2008


Vehicle lost its pick up and gained pick up after 10-15 minutes.  This problem was faced twice in one hour.  Vehicle was sent to M/s. Sanya Motors Workshop on 21st July, 2008 (20th July, 2008 being Sunday) and received back on 22nd July, 2008.


During this month till date (i.e. upto 22nd July, 2008 this vehicle remained in TATA Workshop for repairs for 10 days and with me for 12 days for my use.  This is the position after spending Rs.7.00 lakh on purchase of this vehicle.


Matter was earlier taken up with Regional Office customer Care Support North TATA Motors with the request to replace this vehicle as it has some inherent manufacturing defect as is clear from above.  I have been informed through e-mail dated 14th July, 2008 that it is beyond the purview of TATA’s Policy to replace the vehicle and has ensured satisfactory performance of the vehicle through service net work as per Company’s Policy.


Every time the vehicle comes out of workshop, I am assured of its better performance in future but it frequently breaks down and this time on receiving the vehicle after 8 days from Workshop on 16th July, 2008, the vehicle again started giving problem on 19th July, 2008 i.e. after 2 days.


I feel TATA is running its Research and Design Unit at the cost of its customers by selling defective vehicles and then doing experiments on it.


With this bitter experience, I have started feeling that I made Himalayan blunder of my life by purchasing a car from TATA who only boasts for Taking Care of its customers whereas reality is contrary to this.  When a luxury car of TATAs like TATA INDIGO is giving so much of trouble due to manufacturing defects, I do not know how much common man is going to suffer because of your forthcoming low budget small car “NANO” for which so much publicity is being done for the last few months.  In case no immediate action is taken to replace my car having inherent manufacturing defects, I may be left with no alternative but to approach the Consumer Court.


K.K. Bhandari


Upload Photo

Upload Photos


Upload photo files with .jpg, .png and .gif extensions. Image size per photo cannot exceed 10 MB


Comment on this review

Read All Reviews

YOUR RATING ON

Tata Indigo - Diesel
1
2
3
4
5
X