MouthShut.com Would Like to Send You Push Notifications. Notification may includes alerts, activities & updates.

OTP Verification

Enter 4-digit code
For Brands
MouthShut Logo

Thank you for sharing the requirements with us. We'll contact you shortly.

MouthShut Score

100%
4.50 

Accessibility:

Local Sightseeing:

Hotels / Accommodation:

Safety:

I feel this review is:

Fake
Genuine

To justify genuineness of your review kindly attach purchase proof
No File Selected

Pelling and Ravangla - an unforgettable experience
Oct 25, 2007 01:15 PM 9579 Views

Accessibility:

Local Sightseeing:

Hotels / Accommodation:

Safety:

Recently(From 12th Oct 2007 to 20th Oct 2007) I had trip to Pelling and Ravangla. The experience is truly unforgettable. We had a three years old kid in our group as well as 60 years old lady. So I had to plan for a not so hectic tour itinerary. But we have enjoyed a lot. For the convenience of others I am giving my tour details so that other can plan. I am not giving any description of the majestic Himalayan range because the beauty cannot be described by words. One can only see and feel the atmosphere. Anybody can check my tour photographs at picasaweb.google.com/arunava.majumdar/sikkim2007


But frankly speaking, camera cannot capture the true shades that a sensitive mind can capture.


Our program:


[I would not mention details about the sightseeing spots as those can be easily referred from any travel site]


12th Oct 2007: Boarding Darjeeling Mail from Sealdah at 22:05 hr.s


13th Oct 2007: Reaching NJP in the morning at 8:00 AM and Proceeding towards Pelling


[We had booked a vehicle earlier through the hotel where we had booked our room. it saved us at least 1to 1.5 hr.s, Other alternatives are to book car from Prepaid counter outside the NJP station or book a car from SNT terminus at Siliguri. The journey time for us was 5 hrs.(Non-stop)]


14th Oct 2007:  1 hr. Trekking to Sanga Choeling Monastery to have 360 degree view of


Himalaya and specially the Kanchenjunga Range during sunrise and returning back to hotel. Then proceeding for a sight seeing tour for Rimbi Waterfall, Rimbi Rock Garden, Kanchenjunga Falls, Khechiperi lake.


15th Oct 2007:  Enjoying sunrise from hotel balcony. Proceeding for another sightseeing tour to Peymeyangtse Monastery and Rubdantse ruins.


[Generally the two sightseeing programmes can be combined to complete in one day. But this will be a hectic tour and should be planned considering the physical conditions of the team members.


There is another sightseeing option to Singshore Bridge, Dentam Valley and Chhangey falls. But we could not do it due very bad road condition. If time permits one can visit Yaksum from Pelling]


16th Oct 2007: Proceeding towards Ravangla. It generally takes 3 hr.s. But due to damaged road condition we had to take a longer route with extra cost and time taken was 5 hr.s


17th Oct 2007: Enjoying mountain peak view in the morning and next proceeding for sightseeing to view Yangang Falls, Old and New Ralong Monastery


18th Oct 2007: Enjoying sightseeing at temi Tea Garden and Tibetan Handicraft center


[Again these two sightseeings can be clubbed into one day. Those interested in trekking can enjoy themselves with two different trekking routes through wild life sanctuary - one is Mainam Hill trek and other is Tendong hill trek. Both are full day trek and a guide is essential]


19th Oct 2007: Proceeding towards NJP to Catch Darjeeling Mail


20th Oct 2007: Reaching Sealdah and ending of a nice trip.


*FEW TIPS:




  1. In Pelling there will be no evening activity as no streetlight would be there




  2. In Pelling try to book hotel in the upper Pelling region near helipad. Hotels in the middle or lower pelling will not be able to offer total view of the Kanchenjunga range. The main attraction of Pelling is to enjoy the majestic snow peak view from the comfort of hotel room.




  3. Carry mineral water with you.




  4. Those who love to do shopping will not get enough chance to that in Pelling.




  5. At Ravangla, one can somewhat enjoy the evening time as there is a market place and a locality.






*For any information all are welcome to contact me.


Upload Photo

Upload Photos


Upload photo files with .jpg, .png and .gif extensions. Image size per photo cannot exceed 10 MB


Comment on this review

Read All Reviews

YOUR RATING ON

South Sikkim
1
2
3
4
5
X