Would Like to Send You Push Notifications. Notification may includes alerts, activities & updates.

OTP Verification

Enter 4-digit code
For Brands
MouthShut Logo

MouthShut Score


Room Quality:

Guest Services:

Food and Presentation:


Value for Money:

I feel this review is:


To justify genuineness of your review kindly attach purchase proof
No File Selected

New Delhi India
OYO 83460 Hotel Maya Palace, Kolkata a WORST HOTEL
Oct 25, 2021 01:15 PM 351 Views

Room Quality:

Guest Services:

Food and Presentation:


Value for Money:

Never book a hotel with OYO. Hotel Maya Palace, Kolkata(OYO83460) is an Unsafe hotel.

One of my worst hotel stays was at the OYO 83460 Hotel Maya Palace, Kolkata(booking ID F55B8733 and H8FD9113). The hotel I ended up finding was OYO 83460 Hotel Maya Palace in Kolkata through OYO App. I am an NRI and was traveling abroad.

As I was looking for an early check-in facility, I contacted OYO Customer Care to book a hotel that allows early check-in. OYO advised me to book OYO 83460 Hotel Maya Palace, Kolkata where early check-in is allowed and as per OYO policy, I must pay 30% extra(approx. Rs. 220) as early check-in charge which I agreed and confirmed. OYO sent me the payment link and I booked the hotel for 2 nights.

Upon arriving Kolkata, I called hotel and was surprised to hear their response, the hotel Manager(Mr. Bapi Da) said, we don’t care for OYO, hotel belongs to us not to OYO so we don’t care what OYO committed to you, if you want early check-in you’ll have to pay Rs. 500. I had no other option but to agree with his condition. Meanwhile, I called OYO to register my complaint, and four times they simply disconnected my calls. Finally, when I shared my concern, OYO representative was very casual and said sir we can’t help you on this subject is related to the liaising department, not the sales department and disconnected my call.

When I arrived at the hotel, I was humiliated by the Manager really bad, he said you got a discount from OYO so there is no profit for us, why do OYO send such guests?

I was silent, I was asked to pay Rs. 500 for early check-in which I paid and asked for a receipt and his response was we don’t give any receipt. I said it's not legal, you must provide me any kind of proof of the payment, the manager responded loo, this is Kolkata, and don’t teach me legality. I can throw you and your luggage outside and you won’t be able to do anything. We are not making any profit with your booking so don’t eat our head, this was exactly what the hotel Manager told me in Hindi. They asked me for identity proof so I provided the original passport, the manager got angry with me and said we don’t accept passport, you must provide Aadhar Card. I said I don’t have Aadhar Card however passport is accepted worldwide as an identity proof. After 30 minutes of waiting, he finally accepted my passport, and I was relieved.

I understood it's not good to argue and better just spend two days and continue my journey. The whole premises of the hotel were filthy wasn’t 1% similar to the pictures you see on OYO App. There was no WiFi in the hotel. The bed and Bathroom were so dirty, you don’t feel like using them. Toilet flush was not working for half of the day and after continuous complaint, they repaired. There was no dustbin inside or outside of the room. They didn’t even provide hand soap in the washroom and yes 11:00 pm they close the hotel, so you are not allowed to go out. One hotel staff tried to help me, but the Manager clearly instructed him not to provide any support and assistance.

I tried to call OYO to report these issues, but they didn’t answer my calls, probably they blocked my number.

All in all, it was the worse, pathetic, terrifying, and filthy experience with both OYO and Hotel Maya Palace, Kolkata. It was like a nightmare. I can’t describe Hotel Manager’s behavior in words, he was not only rude but threatening all the time.

My advice to everyone, please don’t trust OYO, use other Apps like, Makemytrip, Adogo, etc and never check-in to OYO 83460 Hotel Maya Palace, Kolkata, its really unsafe, spend little more money but go to a safer place.



Upload Photo

Upload Photos

Upload photo files with .jpg, .png and .gif extensions. Image size per photo cannot exceed 10 MB

Comment on this review

Read All Reviews


Hotel Maya Palace - Kalipark - Kolkata