MouthShut.com Would Like to Send You Push Notifications. Notification may includes alerts, activities & updates.

OTP Verification

Enter 4-digit code
For Brands
MouthShut Logo

MouthShut Score

24%
1.87 

Customer Service:

Rates and Charges:

Satisfaction:

I feel this review is:

Fake
Genuine

To justify genuineness of your review kindly attach purchase proof
No File Selected

Verified Member MouthShut Verified Member
Kolkata India
Letter: Prejudiced HSBC Jeopardizes Card Holders.
Mar 06, 2008 01:55 AM 6707 Views
(Updated Mar 10, 2008 04:28 AM)

Customer Service:

Rates and Charges:

Satisfaction:

I am Soumendra Nath Thakur and a HSBC Gold (Visa) Credit Card 4476--7191 holder from Kolkata since last 3 years and I have been appreciated by your bank several times for my good repayment track.


But I regret to inform you that on 04th of March, 2008, while I was checking my Bank and Credit Card Accounts status online, I have found two unknown transactions happened in the statement of my said Credit Card, vide both transactions dated February 25, 2008 as indicated below.


Accordingly, I have consulted the issue with your phone banking officers but the way I have been treated by your bank that can only happen in an uncivilized society but in no way such ill treatment can be expected from a bank like HSBC.


My discussion with your phone banking executives made me to believe that your Bank's policy is nothing but exploitative and exorbitant, I did not find any reason how a bank like yours can jeopardize an injured customer when he actually needs your help and support.


Your executive, after getting instruction from a senior manager, ordered me in an authoritative tone that I will have to pay for the said transactions even if they are not done by me. When challenged to refer the relevant charge slips (signed by me), it was then replied that I need to pay something Rs. 750/- for retrieval of two charge slips and also need to pay the corresponding service tax but before that I will have to visit the bank (in a distant location, unlike nationalized bank) and submit a signed in request form and wait indefinite days for the retrieval of the same.


When I am 100% sure that the card in question can never be misused by anyone but it is only mistake (intentional or unintentional) done by your bank for the following reasons. However, instead of hearing my appeal for the help from your bank, your executive seemed to be treating me with a blind, prejudiced eye, and further ordered me to follow whatever said.


The reasons, for which I am saying that they are not the transactions, can be happened in my card but a mistake of your bank, are mentioned below:-


(1) Online, I do check my Bank and Credit Card account Statement regularly, and I did not find any approved transaction awaiting presentation even before that day while the transaction happened long ago, on February 25, 2008.


(2) I also keep snapshots of all statements & valid correspondences and I am having them stored in my computer for future reference.


(3) The Credit Card concerned has been kept unused in my locker since more than one month so it can not swiped to be misused.


(4) The alternative way to misuse the Card is ‘online’, but that is also not possible as I always hide the CVV number by some sticker.


(5) The other reason for that it can not be misused online that the Card is password protected by visa so if an unauthorized person tries to use it, will be declined for his inability to provide my personal password.


(6) The payee merchant seems to be a reputed organization so the possibility is very less that they have misused it.


(7) Following mentioned: systemic ascending order of the (concerned) transaction dates fails me to understand that how a transaction of "February 25, 2008" can come forward after an advanced date of March 3, 2008. Here my suspicion is raised and I have enough reason to believe that your bank has done these transactions either by mistake or intentionally to cheat this customer. So if it is a mistake, probably you are concerned about protecting your reputation (valueless) and impugned charging me to hide your own faults.


The Statement


*February 25, 2008 March 3, 2008 CELSIUS TECHNOLOGIES PVT   IN   349.00


February 25, 2008 March 3, 2008 CELSIUS TECHNOLOGIES PVT     IN  650.00


March 3, 2008** March 3, 2008 14, 864.00


February 29, 2008 March 3, 2008 300.00 Cr


February 28, 2008 February 28, 2008 100.00 Cr


February 19, 2008 February 19, 2008 1, 681.00 Cr


*Please note that soon after your bank has declined to provide me normal support, I have submitted a police complaint before the appropriate police station, providing the entire evidence, and I was assured by them to convert it a FIR if my bank declines to resolve the issue reasonably, in an economical way.


I am sure, the above stated misdeed done by you bank will add another of several reasons for which I may hold your bank responsible for deficient, customer injuring service under Consumer Protection Act, 1976.


Unsigned, because I don’t feel like signings a letter meant to deal a cheap, uncivilized matter.



GROUNDS ON WHICH I AM CHARGING YOUR BANK MENTIONED IN THE FOLLOWING COMMENT


Upload Photo

Upload Photos


Upload photo files with .jpg, .png and .gif extensions. Image size per photo cannot exceed 10 MB


Comment on this review

Read All Reviews

YOUR RATING ON

HSBC Visa Credit Card
1
2
3
4
5
X