MouthShut.com Would Like to Send You Push Notifications. Notification may includes alerts, activities & updates.

OTP Verification

Enter 4-digit code
For Brands
MouthShut Logo

MouthShut Score

10%
1.40 

Customer Service:

Claims Settlement:

Premium:

Range of Plans:

Staff Attitude:

I feel this review is:

Fake
Genuine

To justify genuineness of your review kindly attach purchase proof
No File Selected

Verified Member MouthShut Verified Member
Delhi India
HDFC Ergo - A FRAUD, A FRAUD AND ALL FRAUD
Nov 23, 2020 11:28 PM 596 Views
(Updated Nov 24, 2020 06:03 AM)

Customer Service:

Claims Settlement:

Premium:

Range of Plans:

Staff Attitude:

Vehicles insurance is mandatory and we have to go for vehicle insurance before coming on the road. When customers have to come to the insurance companies, the companies must ensure proper verification of papers and antecedents of the vehicles and the party to be insured. Not only this, but they should also help the consumers in distress and should not harass them. When the question comes for honoring the claim, 90% of companies fail in this regard.


HDFC has created a new bad record, which probably no other insurance company had done as per my knowledge


My vehicle is insured with Iffico Tokio for the last two years since 2018, the current year being the second year. I filed the claim for my vehicle on 8th Oct. 2020 with Iffico Tokio.


As usual in the case of the majority of insurance companies, Iffico Tokio raised an objection that while insuring I have claimed the wrong NCB. They charged me that I had declared no claim during 2017-2018 whereas I had a claim on 13th July 2018 and started harassing me


On my challenge, they sent me a shot of a website, where that claim has been recorded.


Now the cat was out of the bag. The first entry was on behalf of Bajaj Allianz for a claim on 24th June 2017 during the year 2016-17 whereas the SECOND CLAIM WAS ON BEHALF OF HDFC ON 13TH JULY 2018 DURING 2017-18.


In both, the entry vehicle registration numbers are the same but engine and chassis numbers differ. The first entry is very correct and is for my vehicle but the second entry is totally wrong on the following grounds: -


1.Two vehicles can not have the same registration numbers unless they have the same engine and chassis numbers. But here these numbers differ.


2.During the year 2017-2018 the insurer of my vehicle was TATA AIG and not HDFC. My vehicle was never insured with HDFC.


3.TATA AIG had confirmed through the mail that there was no claim on my vehicle during the year 2017-18 on 13th July 2018.


4.I was away in a foreign country from 9th July 2018 to 3rd Oct. 2018 with my family and my house, as well as my vehicle, were locked inside the premises - thus repudiating the fact that there was a claim on my vehicle on 13th July 2018.


5.Initially HDFC refused to reply to my queries stating me as a third party.


6.When I reminded them that no two vehicles can run on the road with the same registration numbers and to ensure as such is abetment to crime and a crime itself. I suspect and rather almost sure that HDFC has insured a stolen vehicle with fake registration papers without proper verification and had even honored the claim. I feeling threatened with the possibility of being hauled up for any crime by this stolen vehicle having the same registration number as that for my vehicle, filed the complaint with the police, transport authority, and IRDA and informed HDFC. They are still idle on my query and not able to sort out how this thing has happened. Their representative was only beating about the bush in a telephonic conversation with me. Present reply from customer care since 4th Nov. is that my request is with the claim department for review.


SO CAN WE BELIEVE SUCH INSURANCE COMPANY? THE CONCERNED AGENCIES MUST HAUL UP SUCH COMPANY AND SAVE THE INSURED. CASE SHOULD BE FURTHER INVESTIGATED AS TO HOW A STOLEN VEHICLE HAS BEEN INSURED, HONOURED FOR CLAIM AND WRONG ENTRIES MADE ON THE WEBSITE. THIS HAS PUT ME NOT ON ONLY FOR DANGER STATED ABOVE BUT EVEN MY CLAIM WITH OTHER COMPANY HAS BEEN DISPUTED.


Upload Photo

Upload Photos


Upload photo files with .jpg, .png and .gif extensions. Image size per photo cannot exceed 10 MB


Comment on this review

Read All Reviews

YOUR RATING ON

HDFC ERGO Auto Insurance
1
2
3
4
5
X