MouthShut.com Would Like to Send You Push Notifications. Notification may includes alerts, activities & updates.

For Brands
MouthShut Logo

Thank you for sharing the requirements with us. We'll contact you shortly.

MouthShut Score

32%
1.97 

Infrastructure:

Medical Care:

Staff Attitude:

155, Opposite PD Girls High School, Egmore High Road, Egmore, Chennai 600008, TN

I feel this review is:

Fake
Genuine

To justify genuineness of your review kindly attach purchase proof
No File Selected

Painful killing of patient and their family
30 days ago 3014 Views

Infrastructure:

Medical Care:

Staff Attitude:

This post has been published on the 11th day of his ritual.


This was a case in which my son had recovered completely was given medicines against our warnings and was killed by a team of doctors under one head. They had created multiple organ failure one by one, even though we had gone for liver treatment only which finally had led to his unexpected end. The doctors and nurses in MDCCU were all liars and did not know their job well. He would not have gone to the condition of coma if the doctor who had treated him for TB had known his job properly. Once he had recovered and made him go back to coma, the doctors were like vultures asking us to do a liver transplant. They had made a liver injury patient to an acute chronic liver failure patient along with brain, lung and kidney dysfunction. Apollo's vision of "Touching a billion life" should have been changed to "Touching a billion life to earn billions and kill the billion lives and their families".


The whole details of the treatment till his end has been detailed day by day with medications and is available in the website horizontosky.blogspot.com


Kindly have the patience to read my son's story.


My son was diagnosed with disseminated TB and the doctor from the Center for Infectious disease had started medications. During the treatment, his jaundice level had gone up to almost 10 times the normal value. The doctor had changed TB medications. We had enquired about seeing any other doctor for the elevated bilirubin level and he had advised that there was no need of seeing any other doctor. He had told to continue the medication that had made his condition worse.


06 May 2019


On an early morning, my son had started shaking his head and he was in an unconscious state. We could not wake him up at all. He was taken to Apollo Vanagram and got admitted in MDCCU and treatment was given. All the TB medications were completely stopped.


He remained in the unconscious state all that time and the doctor in charge told there was no hope for him. We had read an article about a patient in a hepatic coma and how he had recovered using plasma exchange. We ourself had requested them to shift my son to the Apollo Main hospital for plasma exchange.


09 May 2019


He was there in Apollo Vanagram till 9.00 pm and from there he was shifted to Apollo Main hospital using an ambulance, under the admission of a hepatologist. The discharge summary from the previous hospital said it was a case of liver failure. We had talked with a doctor who saw all the reports from the previous hospital and said it was a case of liver injury and not a failure. He was admitted in MDCCU.


10 May 2019


The doctors had seen his condition and said he was suffering from liver injury and told that they would start plasma exchange for 3 days continuously to see how he would respond. He was started with the first plasma exchange.


11 May 2019


He was given the second round of plasma exchange and he was started on TB medicine(Mycobutol 1400 x 2 and Amikacin 500 mg x 2) for that particular day even though it was supposed to be stopped.


12 May 2019


He was given the third round of plasma exchange.


13 May 2019


He had come out of the unconscious state and he was well aware of his surroundings. He was completely taken off the ventilator support.


14 May 2019


He was moved to an isolation room since he was suffering from an infection and he was there in isolation room till 18 May 2019.


18 May 2019


He was shifted to a general ward and he had recovered fully and he was there on minimal medications. Someone from our family was always present with him. They also had arranged for a special nurse to be with him for 24 hours in a shift.


22 May 2019


His liver parameters were improving and the doctor had suggested getting discharged on 24 May 2019. We had decided on restarting the ATT drugs when his liver function had become normal. The doctors for hepatology had suggested for us to restart the ATT drugs. Upon insistence, by the doctor, we had decided on restarting the ATT medicine. He was given Combutol 1600 mg and Amikacin 1 g(TB medicines) at night.


23 May 2019


He was given Combutol 800 mg and Amikacin 500 mg(TB medicines)


He was a little restless from the morning. He was also given blood transfusion of 1 unit at 11.30 am since his hemoglobin level was low and he started getting aggressive due to which the whole unit of blood could not be transfused. He started calling my youngest son's name and a co-employee's name. He was shifted to MDCCU in the evening.


24 May 2019


He was getting aggressive and he was restrained, There were also tests taken for liver transplant options. We were not notified of the transplant tests that were taken for transplant. His total bilirubin levels had jumped drastically to 16.3 and the ammonia level was 2.1.


25 May 2019


He had started behaving normally and there were no major medications given. He was shifted to the HDU unit on his improvement


26 May 2019


He had started becoming silent and he had become drowsy in the noon. The doctors had suggested starting the plasma exchange for 3 days. The first plasma exchange was started this day.


27 May 2019


He was awake in the morning and he had become unconscious at around 3.00 pm. He did not come back into a conscious state. The second plasma exchange was started this day.


28 May 2019


He was unconscious and the doctors had ventilated with full support since he was unable to breathe on his own and he has shifted to MDCCU again. The third plasma exchange was started this day. After the plasma exchange, CRRT was started continuously.


29 May 2019


He was taken for the brain CT scan without contrast and bedside EEG was also taken. The following was the impression from the report of the neurology department.


This record shows very low amplitude waves are seen on both sides.


Response to eye-opening to closure not seen.


Eye open and eye closer response could not be seen.


Activation procedure could not be done.


Electrical artifacts are seen.


No epileptiform activity is seen.


And the impression given was “ The record is abnormal, it shows diffuse cerebral dysfunction”.


The CT scan taken had come back as a normal study.


30 May 2019


The doctor had called that his heart had stopped beating during the night and he was given CPR and his heart had started beating in 3 minutes.


31 May 2019


The line that was used for CRRT was changed early in the morning at around 2.00 am. There was a counseling session from the doctors for stopping the treatment since his condition had worsened and his blood pressure was getting low.


01 June 2019


His blood pressure had improved during the day and he was taken off the blood pressure medications completely. We had asked for plasma exchange and due to the blood pressure variations, the doctor had suggested to postpone it to 03 June 2019.


02 June 2019


His blood pressure was completely stable and the doctor had told that his condition was stable, but there was no improvement or downward trend. There was some blood that had come from his mouth when they tried to clear the secretions. He had passed motion about six times this day.


03 June 2019


His blood pressure was stable and the doctor had suggested liver transplant option. He had started developing focal seizures on his face and left hand. The catheter was completely removed and the doctor said that there was a renal failure. He had passed motion only twice this day.


04 June 2019


His blood pressure had started dropping low and he was given medications started for the blood pressure drop. He was having complete body seizures and he was frothing at the mouth. Since his blood pressure was low he was not given plasma exchange during this time. He was given many neurological medicines to prevent seizures. The CRRT machine was not functioning since they said his blood pressure was low. He did not pass any motion and on requesting the doctor, he had prescribed enema during the night.


05 June 2019


The enema prescribed by the doctor was not given. The had said the movement of his body caused a drop in blood pressure and so it was not given. His BP was in the lower level and also had hypothermia.


Around 2.22 pm he stopped breathing and the doctor had tried CPR to resuscitate him. We were unable to save him.


After seeing the dead body of my son with a blackened face, deep yellow eyes, swollen testis, and blood oozing out from the anus I couldn't bear the pain and hence started writing to find what had gone wrong with my son's treatment. My son was alive till 25 May 2019 after the recovery from his coma stage because of plasma exchange for three days from 10.05.2019 to 12.05.2019. I just want to know where the treatment had gone wrong or was it my mistake by allowing to restart the ATT medicine by the advice of the doctors. For doctors, Ajay is one of the hundred cases and for our family, he was the only one who can not be replaced by anyone. I could have consoled myself if my son died of TB. When my son was shifted to Apollo Greams Road from Apollo Vanagaram, I told the doctors not to give ATT treatment first, my son should be alive. Till 27 May 2019, his kidney function was normal. On 28 May 2019, I was told that CRRT machine was to remove the ammonia and they had continued the dialysis till his death.


It is not possible for me to forget his last words when he was conscious on 25.05.2019 “ I am afraid Mummy”. The statement made by my son is making me guilty for not hearing his feelings. Even after his death, he suffered, as his height is 6'4 feet and the freezer box size available was 6'0 feet. So we had to keep his legs bent and the body was not fitting properly in the freezer box. The authority in-charge of the freezer box told that maximum size is 6'0 feet. We had kept the body in the mortuary and the body was collected from the hospital the next day. To our surprise, my son's head has been swollen and fluids started oozing from his Eyes, Ear, and Mouth. The freezer box was not closed properly on the previous day.


I very well know death is sure for everybody. But my son's horrible death, I couldn't do the last rituals properly.


Upload Photo

Upload Photos


Upload photo files with .jpg, .png and .gif extensions. Image size per photo cannot exceed 10 MB


Comment on this review

Read All Reviews

Write a Review on Apollo Hospital - Greams Road - Chennai

Write Review
X